Supporters’ Clubs World Confederation welcomes five new international ‘penyes’

NEWS 18 Jun 2019 - Supporters’ Clubs World Confederation

The Blaugrana family expands its presence in Africa, where four of the five new official supporters’ clubs are based

The FC Barcelona Supporters’ Clubs World Confederation have made official five new ‘penyes’ to join a movement growing in multiculturality and internationality: FC Barcelona already has a total of 1,247 supporters’ clubs: 601 located in Catalonia, 512 in other regions of Spain, and a further 134 in the rest of the world, in total bringing together 164,113 supporters.

The Democratic Republic of the Congo, Ivory Coast, Ghana and Burkina Faso now have their first official supporters’ clubs, which has exponentially increased Barça’s representation in Africa. The first, the Penya Barça de Kinshasa, has around one hundred members holds solidarity and sporting activities. The Penya Blaugrana Abidjan (Ivory Coast), has 70 members who will proactively lead actions such as the food and blood donations. Meanwhile, Penya Blaugrana Accra (Ghana) also have around 70 supporters and aim to become the home of Barça fans in the territory.

In the neighbouring country, Burkina Faso, the Penya Barcelonista Ouagadougou is an organization led by Jordi Monturiol, president of the Federació de Penyes Barcelonistes del Barcelonès Est, and already has the support of 90 fans. During recent years, this Federation has maintained a close link with the entity through expeditions to the territory, with the aim of supplying food and materials to the poorest areas of the country.

Finally, Israel officially welcomes its second supporter’s club, the Penya AraBlaugrana of Nazareth, an entity promoted by José Yamal Hawach, who, besides being the president of the Federació de Penyes Barcelonistes de Canàries in the Canary Islands, has personal ties with Nazareth.

The creation of these five new international clubs shows the growth and presence of FC Barcelona and its penyes movement around the world. The list of new official supporters’ clubs is as follows:

  • Penya Barça de Kinshasa (Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo)
  • Penya Blaugrana Abidjan (Abidjan, Ivory Coast)
  • Penya Blaugrana Accra (Accra, Ghana)
  • Penya Barcelonista Ouagadougou (Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso)
  • Penya AraBlaugrana of Nazaret (Nazaret, Palestine)